Showing Collections: 1 - 6 of 6
Bradney Griffin Letter
Collection
Identifier: SC 00031
Scope and Contents
The letter from Bradney Griffin, South Mills, N.C., to an unknown recipient is entitled "Escape of 80 Confederate Officers. Their Pursuit by the Mounted Rifles. A Six Day's Scout. Capture of Horses, Mules. Griffin discusses the escape of the soldiers who were being marched to Fort Delaware and describes the recovery efforts over the ensuing days. Negative and positive photostats.
Dates:
1863 June 28
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Typescript Letters of Moses Ethriage
Collection
Identifier: SC 00500
Scope and Contents
Four typescript letters; May-Oct. 1863; of Moses Ethriage, a CSA soldier stationed in North Carolina and at Sullivan's Island, SC. Letters discuss camp life and home conditions.
Dates:
circa 1976
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Louis Fortescue Diary
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D30
Scope and Contents
Diary written by Louis Fortescue, a Captain of the Signal Corps, while a Union Prisoner of War at the "Asylum Prison" in Columbia, South Carolina up to his arrival in his home state, probably Pennsylvania. Dates from January 11 - March 12, 1865. He writes about the prison conditions, food and treatment of prisoners at both the Asylum Prison and the prison in Charlotte, North Carolina. Beginning February 14, he and 550 officers travel on the top of a train to Charlotte, NC from Columbia,...
Dates:
1865
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Lamb Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 L16
Scope and Contents
Diaries, 1855, 1859-1861, 1864-1909, (52 volumes) of Col. William Lamb (1835-1909), written while a student at the College of William and Mary, newspaper editor, Civil War commander of Fort Fisher, N.C. (1862-1865), coal merchant, Norfolk businessman and mayor (1880-1886), and member of the Board of Visitors and Rector of William and Mary. Collection also includes diary, 1861, and some letters of his wife Sarah Annie Chaffee Lamb as well as page proofs and other material relating...
Dates:
1835-1909
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Marshall M. Miller Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 01208
Scope and Contents
Typescripts of letters, xeroxed in circa 1995, written by Union soldier Marshall M. Miller (b. 1827) of Battery F, First Michigan Regiment Light Artillery to his wife Mrs. Adelia M. Miller at Bethel, Branch County, Michigan. Includes descriptions of camp life in Ohio, Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, and Georgia. Starting in August 1864, Miller participated in engagements in the Atlanta campaign and there are descriptions of these battles. Also, forms about his military service filled...
Dates:
circa 1995
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Andrew J. Weeks Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 00239
Scope and Contents
37 letters, mostly during the Civil War era, written by Andrew J. Weeks, of Brooklyn, New York, to his sister, Hannah Weeks of Merrick, Long Island, New York. He was a 1st sergeant of Co. D., 10th Regiment of the New York infantry Volunteers. He wrote from Fort Monroe, Virginia, Gosport Navy Yard, Virginia, Richmond, Virginia, Point Lookout, Maryland, Beaufort, North Carolina and Riker's Island, New York. On March 9, 1861, Weeks states the Merrimac has sunk the Cumberland and the Ericcson...
Dates:
1861-1902; Majority of material found in 1862-1866
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center